New Sci Fi Releases Week of 4/24

 

Here are a few new releases in science fiction that caught our attention. The vast majority are from small presses or are self-published with the occasional title from a big publisher sprinkled in. These are handpicked based on customer reviews, plot summary, author, or just our gut feeling.

If you are a self-published author or one who has a novel being released through a small press, let us know and we may include it on our weekly new releases post. If it really makes an impression, Prescient may post a review and may send an interview request for Thoughtcrime, our official Podcast.

DiamondDiamond (V Vices Book One)

Tigris Eden

Publisher: Kats Kreative Ideas

Eons ago, the comet Biel passed through Earth’s atmosphere, depositing Travelers and leaving behind remnants that drastically altered the planet and its inhabitants. Hundreds of years later, mutation and evolution have left behind a desolate wasteland and dangers beyond comprehension.

The last remnants of the human race are clinging to life, living in the ruins of Earth’s major cities and struggling to survive. Technology is scarce, and what little remains comes from the very thing that almost destroyed them. Monsters roam the streets, and fear and duplicity rule.

The fallout from the comet has mutation spreading, disfiguring men and twisting their minds, turning them into carnivores and savages that threaten the city and its people. Amidst the chaos, one man rules as Sovereign and corners the market on both technology and trade. To Lavarious Diamond, everything is for sale or trade. The only question is how much it’s worth.

When a mysterious woman comes to the Quarry and promises a huge payday, Diamond’s tidy life is shaken up, and he finds himself uncharacteristically helping her. Along the way, secrets and deceit abound. When the truth comes out, nothing and nobody will ever be the same.

 

 

 

Eighth DayThe Eighth Day

Joseph John

Publisher: Obsidian Dawn

A sci-fi techno-thriller for fans of Michael Crichton, Philip K. Dick, and Robert Ludlum.

“I found myself actually holding my breath during the action scenes. Truly a must read.” (Lilyn G.)

A warning from a stranger.
“Nothing you know is real. Your name isn’t Shawn Jaffe, you’re not an investment broker, and you’re not from Ohio.”
But the stranger is murdered before he can explain.
Now Shawn isn’t sure who he can trust.
Even his own memories are suspect.
Someone is watching him, controlling him, using him.
To survive, he’ll need to find out who and why.
But the stakes are much higher than one man.
Our humanity is on the line, and on the eighth day, it could be the beginning of the end.

 

 

 

Days of TaoThe Days of Tao

Wesley Chu

Publisher: Subterranean Press

Cameron Tan wouldn’t have even been in Greece if he hadn’t gotten a ‘D’ in Art History.

Instead of spending the summer after college completing his training as a Prophus operative, he’s doing a study abroad program in Greece, enjoying a normal life – spending time with friends and getting teased about his crush on a classmate.

Then the emergency notification comes in: a Prophus agent with vital information needs immediate extraction, and Cameron is the only agent on the ground, responsible for getting the other agent and data out of the country. The Prophus are relying on him to uncomplicate things.

Easy.

Easy, except the rival Genjix have declared all-out war against the Prophus, which means Greece is about to be a very dangerous place. And the agent isn’t the only person relying on Cameron to get them safely out of the country – his friends from the study abroad program are, too. Cameron knows a good agent would leave them to fend for themselves. He also knows a good person wouldn’t. Suddenly, things aren’t easy at all.

The Days of Tao is the latest in the popular Tao series from award-winning author, Wesley Chu. Following after The Rebirths of Tao, this novella carries on the fast-moving and fun tone of the series.